Sat. Oct 1st, 2022

Colombo, July 7: The cricket governing body of Sri Lanka, Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC), has declared that it is prepared to host the tournament beginning on August 27 after months of concern over the country’s ability to host the Asia Cup 2022 owing to the economic and political turmoil.

The SLC’s secretary, Mohan de Silva, was reported by Cricbuzz as stating, “We will leave it to the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) to make the announcement but our board president Shammi Silva has told Jay Shah, the president of ACC, of our preparation to organise the event.”

The T20 tournament’s hosting was in doubt due to the country’s ongoing economic and political crisis, which has left millions of island nation residents struggling to afford food, gasoline, and medications since April of this year. The administration there is reportedly eager for the tournament to take place on the island itself, according to the article.

Australia is currently playing a two-match Test series in Sri Lanka; they previously played three T20Is and five ODIs there. A three-match T20I and ODI series against the India women’s team is also being hosted by them. From July 16–28, they will host Pakistan for a two-match Test series in Galle and Colombo.

Originally slated to take place in September 2020, the Asia Cup would have included the defending champions, India. But the Covid-19 epidemic caused the competition to be postponed till July 2020. Then it was moved to June 2021 in Sri Lanka, and then it was moved again to August–September 2022.

In addition to the hosts Sri Lanka, India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh, another Asian team—possibly the United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Singapore, or Hong Kong—will compete in the event. The qualifying tournament’s schedule is yet unknown.

The Asia Cup was first held in 1984 in Sharjah, making the 2022 edition the tournament’s fifteenth. India has won the competition seven times, including the T20I version in 2016. They are the most successful team in the competition. Pakistan has won the championship twice, while Sri Lanka has won it five times.

By adele rose

Adele Rose is the senior editor and employee of WGBS Pvt Ltd Digital wing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.